Religious Tourist Attractions
IMAGE OF STO. ÑINO
Considered as the oldest religious relic in the Philippines. It was
on April 14, 1521 that Magellan gave the image to Queen Juana as a
baptismal gift. Forty-four years later, on April 27, 1965 when Miguel
Lopez de Legaspi arrived, Fr. Andres de Urdaneta who formally christianized
the Cebuanos, found the natives hostile. Legazpi besieged the settlement
and set the village on fire. It was on one burnt houses that Juan
Camus, a soldier, found the image of Sto. Niño unscratched.
Since then, the miraculous image has been venerated by the Cebuanos
as its patron saint. At present, the miraculous image is kept in the
parish convent, and a replica is adorned with gold and precious stones
and enshrined in glass. It is housed in a side altar inside the Basilica
Minor del Santo Niño.
BASILICA MINOR DEL SANTO NIÑO
This church was built by Miguel
Lopez de Legaspi and Fr. Andres Urdaneta on the site where the image
of Santo Niño was found in 1565. The first structure of the
church was, however, destroyed by fire on November 1, 1568. It was
rebuilt in 1602 under the administration of Juan Albaran and was rehabilitated
in 1740. On May 1965, the church was conferred the title of Basilica
Minor del Santo Niño by Cardinal Antonuitte, Papal Legate during
the Fourth Centennial celebration of the Christianization of Cebu.
Built in 1972 at a cost of P 65 million. This 864-meter bridge connects
the islands of Mactan and Cebu.
Situated on top of cool Busay Hills, an excellent sight seeing spot
which offers a breathtaking view of Metro Cebu and the islands of
Mactan and Olanga. Cottages are available for daytime picnics and
instant evening parties.
Located in Paril, Barili, 61 km. south of Cebu City. Take off for
a perfect weekend and simply bask in the awesome and natural splendor
of Cebu's only Mountain Resort. Only 90 minutes drive away from the
city life, passing through scenic and picturesque terrain and seaside
towns of the south.
A scenic subdivision on Lahug Hills commands a breathtaking view of
the entire city.
Found in the municipality of Liloan, around 18 kms. north of Cebu
City. Built by the Ameicans in 1904.
THE NEW CEBU COLISEUM
A sports center located at Sanciangco Street where concerts and ball
games are usually held.
Along Osmeña Blvd. is a sports comples equipped with body building
equipment, swimming pool, bowling lanes and ball game courts. Accomodation
is also available.